

Torres Strait Regional Authority (TSRA)

2024 Board Election

DECLARATION OF ELECTION RESULTS

Masig Island Ward

The election for **Masig Island** ward was conducted in accordance with the TSRA Election Rules 2017. The election results are as follows:

Masig Island Ward	
Total formal ballot papers	74
Total informal ballot papers	1
Total ballot papers admitted for this ward	75

Vote counting system – optional preferential

Election 1

Candidates	First preference votes	Final votes after distribution of preferences
MOSBY, Hilda	22	0
MOSBY, Yessie	22	32
NAAWI, Simon Frederick	30	34

Given both Hilda Mosby and Yessie Mosby had an equal number of votes at the end of the first count, in accordance with Rule 106 of the TSRA Election Rules 2017, Hilda Mosby was excluded after the first count as a result of the drawing of a lot to decide which candidate to exclude. The following candidate received an absolute majority of votes on the second count. For this reason, I declare **Simon Frederick Naawi** elected for **Masig Island** ward.

Date: 08/12/ 2024

Jacqueline McHenry Returning Officer Australian Electoral Commission Phone: (03) 9285 7111 or (02) 9375 6366 Email: tsra@aec.gov.au